Advisory Groups and Committees

About: OAEM has Advisory Groups/Teams and Committees, which fall under different portfolios. All Advisory Groups/Teams and Committees are governed by a Terms of Reference, established by the Board. After every General Meeting of the Members, the association will post interest for contributing members. All members are appointed by the Board for a term of one year. Advisory Groups/Teams and Committees make recommendations via the Chair/Team Lead to the Board of Directors for further action or resolution. 

OAEM Committees 

Emergency Management Student Committee

Student Board Member: To be announced in Fall 2023 

Student Committee Members: To be announced in Fall 2023 

Contact: Charles-Antoine Duval, Director of Student Engagement at

Advisory Teams

First Nations Advisory Team (FNAT) - Wilbert Wesley, Lead 

The FNAT's overall purpose is to: 

  • Seek guidance from OAEM’s First Nations members as to how OAEM can support emergency management initiatives/programs in First Nations communities across Ontario

  • The First Nations Advisory Team will serve to increase engagement and representation of all Ontario First Nations communities; to establish a dialogue with indigenous peoples with respect to their emergency management needs and in setting emergency management priorities while respecting traditional knowledge

  • To facilitate outreach and promote ongoing dialogue with our First Nations members  


Infrastructure Sector Advisory Groups

Healthcare Emergency Management Sector Advisory Group - Janine Walters, Lead 
OAEM’s Healthcare Emergency Management Sector Subcommittee is a working group comprised of emergency management professionals within the healthcare sector with a focus on risk management, emergency preparedness and disaster management. Terms of Reference currently under development and contact details coming soon!

Post-secondary Institutions Sector Advisory Group - Kathy Branton, Chair and Larson LaRue Coordinator 
T he OAEM Post-secondary Institutions Advisory Group is comprised of emergency management practitioners from several Ontario post-secondary institutions (PSIs). The PSI Sector Advisory Group's overall purpose is to:
  • Seek to influence the Province of Ontario to formally recognize Emergency Managers at post-secondary institutions
  • Acquire provincial training for emergency managers at post-secondary institutions and the organizations they represent
  • Foster the development of provincial emergency management standards applicable to post-secondary institutions
  • Develop a resource library for PSI emergency management practitioners to access best practices, templates, contact information, etc.
  • Identify trends impacting emergency management practitioners at PSIs

Additional Infrastructure Sector Advisory Groups coming soon! 

Technical Advisory Committees 

Disaster Risk, Emergency Management and Humanitarian Actions Technical Advisory Committee: The CIFAL-York Disaster Risk, Emergency Management, and Humanitarian Actions Technical Advisory Committee (DEMTAC) is composed of academics and professionals to provide expert input, direction, and support towards various types of executive, leadership, and civil society training and knowledge sharing around disaster risk reduction and emergency management.

OAEM Committee Representative: Paula-Marie Jannetta, OAEM President

Steering Committees

Incident Management System Steering Committee (IMSSC)

The IMS Steering Committee (IMSSC) is the advisory body for the IMS program in Ontario. The IMSSC consists of a diverse group of stakeholders including First Nation communities and organizations, municipalities, provincial ministries, federal departments, nongovernmental organizations, agencies and associations and other stakeholder groups. As a collective, the IMSSC supports the Emergency Management Ontario (EMO) by providing advice and guidance on IMS program elements and materials based on the expertise brought forward within each stakeholder group. Emergency Management Ontario established the IMSSC to incorporate advice, recommendations, and support from members and associated stakeholder groups as part of continuously improving the IMS program in Ontario.

OAEM Steering Committee Representative: Daphne Farrell, Director of Community Relations